Input your search keywords and press Enter.


March 06, 2019 at 7pm – 9pm

On Wednesday the 6th of March, the Centre for Kurdish Progress and the Kurdish People’s Democratic Assembly of Britain held a reception in the Attlee Suite of the British Houses of Parliament to mark Newroz – traditionally celebrated by Kurds as the beginning of spring and the start of a new year.

Please click here for photos and here for video.

The evening brought together members of the Kurdish community from all parts of Kurdistan, who were joined by supporters of the Kurdish cause from across the UK’s political spectrum. The reception was kindly hosted by Shadow Secretary of State for International Development Dan Carden MP and Sir David Amess MP.

The keynote speech was made by leader of the Labour Party Jeremy Corbyn MP, who thanked the Kurdish communities in Britain for the contribution they make to British society. Mr Corbyn spoke of the significance of Newroz as part of Britain’s multicultural and multi-ethnic society and called upon the UN to ensure it does everything it can to protect the Kurdish people in Syria from incursions by Turkish forces  

Further speeches were made by Chair of the APPG on the Kurdistan Region of Iraq Jack Lopresti MP; Lord Wallace of Saltaire; Mary Glindon MP; Catherine West MP; Afzal Khan MP; Kate Osamor MP; Bambos Charalambous MP; John Spellar MP; Chris Stephens MP; the Director of the Centre for Kurdish Progress, Ibrahim Dogus;  Kurdistan Regional Government High Representative to the UK Karwan Jamal Tahir; Iraqi Senior Chargé d’affaire Nazar Mirjan Mohammed and Steve Turner of Unite the Union.

The 5th Most Successful Kurds in Britain winners are as below:

Extraordinary Contribution to the Kurdish Cause

Dr Thomas Jeffrey Miley

Danny Darren

Rt Hon Lloyd Russell-Moyle MP

Rt Hon Mary Glindon MP

Rt Hon Sir David Amess MP

Extraordinary Contribution to the Kurdish Community

Dr Veli Yadirgi

Besime Basar

Businesswoman of the Year

Pary Baban

Ala Barzinji

Most Successful Role Model

Dr Caucher Birkar

Art Award

Dr Peyman Haydarian


March 06, 2019 at 7pm – 9pm


Houses of Parliament